Fenerbahce crowned TBL champions after beating Anadolu Efes

Istanbul giants Fenerbahce won the 2015-2016 Turkish Basketball League title after beating Anadolu Efes 91-70 on Monday night.

Fenerbahce won the sixth match of the seven-game series against the heavyweights Anadolu Efes to win the series 4-2, to become this year's champions.

Before advancing to the finals, Fenerbahce beat archrivals Galatasaray Odeabank 82-75 and won the series 4-1.

The 2015-2016 season was a very successful one for Fenerbahce as the Istanbul giants became the first Turkish team to advance to the Euroleague finals, losing to CSKA Moscow 101-96 in overtime in the final at the Mercedes-Benz Arena in Berlin.

Regular time between the two ended 83-83 so the game went into overtime. The Turkish team was a favorite to win the Euroleague, which no Turkish club has done.

After several years of heavy investment, the club boasted an array of European household names and several former NBA campaigners.

Fenerbahce also got sweet revenge for their 2015 defeat by brushing Real Madrid aside 3-0 in their best-of-five series to reach this year's Final Four.

Last year, Fenerbahce lost against the Moscow club 86-80 in the third-place game of the Euroleague.

Six-time Euroleague winner CSKA Moscow has reached the finals 12 times before.

Fenerbahce had sought to become the first Turkish club to lift the trophy; while its coach, Zeljko Obradovic, already has a record eight titles with four different clubs.